How much is reliability crucial in a relationship

Posted on


The other day, while I was waiting to board a bus back to my home from the supermarket area, I noticed an old woman, possibly lingering in her 60’s, standing by the corner of the street. I had to keep standing there for quite long. All the while the lady seemed to be waiting for someone, taxis and buses were passing by but she seemed disinterested in any transport altogether, she just seemed to be intently waiting. It was almost half an hour. I felt curious now. Why would a person, her age keep stressing her eyeballs to see a long distance across is there was someone coming, when there was no sign of any! I approached her and asked if she needed any help. I was stunned at the answer. I shall quote the reply as accurately as I remember….

“I am waiting for my husband. He accompanied me to the supermart here. On our way out, he asked me to wait here, till he would drive out the car from the parking. Seems he has forgotten that I am waiting. Must have driven back home. He would be coming back any time to pick me up.”

I asked her whether I should be helping her to her home, and pat came the reply, “What if I leave and he comes? He would be looking for me! HE would go nuts if he does not find me standing here! It won’t be long dear. I know my husband. However forgetful he is, he would come back. I am sure. Don’t worry about me. It was sweet of you to have asked though!”

That is what the feeling of reliability does in a relationship. It strengthens and nurtures. Do I need to say more?

2 thoughts on “How much is reliability crucial in a relationship

    Ashu Chandola said:
    August 14, 2013 at 4:56 am

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

