An Anonymous Letter

Posted on


Letter to anonymous

I am in one of those extra-ordinary moods today, which I seldom find myself in….or…often do I? May be the later. I just pull that invisible blanket over that ‘often’ to make it look like ‘seldom’. Actually, it seems like I do not like doing it much either! But sometimes the thought of making my pieces worth-reading and particularly, ‘Useful for audience’ in the words of Social media and Internet marketing strategists makes me write things that would be informative for you. Not today, because today, I chose to listen intently to what my heart sobbed out to me, not to people who earn their bucks out of advice. Today, I decide on writing a letter to ‘Nobody’, yet to ‘Everybody’. People who find a mirrory resemblance with this could view the magic of commonness, those who find me wicked could curse me in the solemn solitude of their hearts, those who do not feel nothing could as well store it as piece of literature that has a lot of ‘Similes’ and ‘Metaphors’ in it…. I leave the choice up to you!

To ______,

I wanted to say this a long ago, a very long ago, but something in me just stopped myself; something that grew in me after I met you. I can describe exactly how that growth felt. It felt warm, it felt mellow…. It felt pink, it felt satin, it felt soft grass tickling under feet. Well, whatever it was, it stopped me from telling some things to myself. You know the reason? Just because the warm little thing thought my soul would be hurt if it came to know about those honest little confessions. Today, or let me be specific, since the time I have grown more mature than my warm self, I asked that warm being in me to shut up and let the cold come over me.

There were times when I din’t know a better belongingness than you. I belonged to you, you belonged to me. But belongingness definitely does not certify a complete freedom of irradical usage. So all those times when that feeling of belonging to you pricked me somewhere intimate in my being, I grew an inch out of it and started to see, how I had stopped belonging to myself……how I had let my self flow out to you…..how I had gone out of sight from my own eyes….and how I had created a warm mellow being in my void to show to show to myself….. I needed to be consoled that love has made me warm, made me soft, made me water of a rock. Who does not love a few moments of weakness? And yes, who does not love to lose one’s self in belonging to that very special person?

But then one day, I realized at some fortunately bitter moment of realization that I somehow do not fill up the picture of belongingness, I somehow do not complete you. But tell me, what else could I give? I had already given my entirity to you, devoted my soul at the feet of your heart. I didn’t have much more to send your way. Enlightenment is not always empowering. Sometimes it gives a shock that can leave us empty from inside, because we come to realize that what we knew and believed in till today, was nothing more than a lie.

Yes, I know clearly now, how much I had lied to you and to myself! I had created an entire being, something that I am not, to suit you pretty. Words that felt sweet to your ears, colors that felt good to your eyes, character that felt food to your sense of being, strength that made you feel I am a gem of a woman! Possibly not! I am imperfect, like every other human being! But does perfection not mean stagnancy? I don’t know why I created this image. Possibly because your perfection overwhelmed me? Perhaps because the power of equal comparative overpowered me? Or may be just because I wanted to look good! Whatever the reason, it was not good an excuse enough for plotting myself up! I am just like any other girl is! I want to look and smell good. I blush when someone says I am looking good, I have the birth right to change my mind and put up fusses, it is perfectly fine if people find me difficult to understand, I am difficult, yes I am; I love to hug my girl friends and tell them how much I love them, I love to be a bitch at times, I love to walk in style in front of my boyfriends, I love the smell of lip-gloss, I love to highlight my features, but yes, every girl is somewhat similar! It is no sin to be like that!

So what I invariably was in front of you, was just an honest effort to be the person you would love to fall in love with. I thank you immensely today for this moment of realization, happy or sad really is relative, so I would not make a heartless mention of it here. I feel an idiot at times now, for obvious reasons, for having kept expectations, that you, as a mortal being, could not handle……for having asked for genuine perfection when I myself was disguised in the cover of blissful purity….for having asked for a life that I somewhere in some corner of my heart, knew was not meant for me!

I thank you for letting me see the individual I am. I have devoted hours and years to this play of ‘I can be better for you, in a better manner than you can be better for me’. I am tired now. I won’t say I have wasted these years….nothing goes waste in the universe. I have burnt ruthlessly in the hot flames of false passion and arrogance and at the bosoms of those flames, I have seen my soul in its true state, scarred, blooded, ripped, begging for healing… It has hurt a real lot, it has been a journey through the hell, when I reached out for my weakened soul. But then, I have it in me now and I can attend to it with care, affection and love now. I can bathe it in the waters of truth and bliss, I can wipe it with towels of strength and modesty and I can dress it with clothing of my warm self!

You have helped me evolve my definitions of individualism, of love, of belongingness, of me and of we. And I promise you, these versions are better than the previous notions of emotions. They are more honest, they are more transparent, they are more precise and they are more enlightening. I have not grown out of love when we parted ways, I gave grown in it. I know how to love more and be myself more now. I know how much it hurts not be one’s true self! Pretensions do not last a lifetime.

I am prepared to give up now. I am prepared to let go with whatever tinges of dignity is left for me in your eyes and of you in mine. Certain things never change. I know you have certain limitations and you know I have some of them. It is perfectly human to move on with whatever back henges we have in life. A burden or a lingering bitterness is too heavy on my soul to carry. I treasure those moments, those thoughts, those dreams for a life-time. It was really just a dream, but all dreams are not meant to be true. I have grown up to understand that and I let go.

Love, care and an ocean of warmth,

____________________

Leave a Reply

